Good bye Typo3

Posted: October 1, 2012 by Sankar Vijayakumar in Typo3
Tags: , , ,

Good bye Typo3

First of all let me tell you that this is my 13th post on Typo3. In “Lecture Hall-13“, I said that the number 13 is no more unlucky, but now it seems like yet not fully.

What made me choose my first blog’s title as ‘sankartypo3’?

As you can see at the bottom-right corner of this page that I said good bye to Typo3 on 30th September 2012. I felt like changing the website address and blog title since it’s no longer relevant. I’ve already said that I’m neither a tech wizard nor a good writer but still I’d like to be a bit of both. So I mixed both kind of posts + a few photos to make this blog colourful. The word Typo3 in title was for better ranking in search engines, a dirty trick. No one will enter to my blog (at least at the initial stage) to check my writings/photos without such a keyword. I didn’t get any other idea to market this blog.

Till the end of September I was left with 2 options –

  1. Drop this blog.
  2. Change web address to something like iamsanker, whatsankarsays, hisankar etc.

But now I feel keeping this blog as it is, since got a few regular visitors and the name has earned by blog more than 4000 hits (it’s something that makes me happy.). I’ve started missing Typo3, the one which promoted me to a Software Engineer, the one which gave me my first onsite experience, the one which told me what a CMS is and the thought of my colleagues still working on such a wonderful system makes me miss TYPO3 a little more.

Good bye Typo3

Good bye Typo3!

Reasons for leaving Typo3 are the same mentioned in the post “Typo3 India” under the heading “Why the techies in India doesn’t prefer TYPO3?” and also I’m leaving my current/first company. The last week of September showed many signs of Typo3 getting popular in India. Many companies in my state realized the scope and importance of Typo3 – the most complete cms. I got better offers in Typo3, even 3 times better ones than my current package in the new company. I would like to work again on Typo3 after 2-3 years if I’m still working on php and the question “Typo3? What’s it?” reduces by at least 40% (I still love this number a lot :)) among the php programmers here in India.

So for now I say “Good Bye Typo3” :(.

Good bye Typo3

Comments
  1. Stormy says:

    I’ve recently started a website, the info you offer on this site has helped me greatly. Thanks for all of your time & work.

    Like

  2. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do some research on this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more from this post. I am very glad to see such magnificent information being shared freely out there.

    Like

How's it? Your comments and suggestions...

